A Request for Help

Hello, this is a letter I sent out to some of my most ardent supporters. I can really use the help from everyone though!

Most important thing right now: Please invite all your facebook friends to “like” my page. I really, really, really need the exposure.

click here to donate

Thanks,

Malene

Dear Friends,
My time since I started to walk has been the most intense, incredible, transformative experience of my life. I am truly blessed to have been able to do this, to have met the people I have met and to have seen the places I have seen. Several of you on this email are people I have met on The Trail.
I can say with certainty that I am not the same person as I was when I started this walk. I have changed in so many ways. One of the ways I have changed is I am no longer afraid of not having enough money. This used to be my biggest terror – not any longer.
Another big change is I am now aware, not only that I have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS), I am also aware of what it does to me, and I know how to best control the symptoms. I will always have PCOS, but I am much healthier now than I have been in almost 20 years.
For those of you following my journey – by today and tomorrow several new articles are going up.
As I write this letter, I am strangely at peace. Reality is that I am almost out of options to fund this journey. When I get to Albuquerque in about two weeks then I will spend a few weeks doing a major, and I do mean major push for media attention. Ideally I get attention from a national outlet. I do this because I MUST build my following large enough that one or more companies will sponsor me.
I either get so many private followers that I can count on the proverbial 2000 people sending me $10, or I get substantial sponsors. The journey will cost $20000-30000 from here, but I really also want to be able to fundraise for an obesity related non profit.
I send a copy of this letter both because you have been a major supporter and I want you to know what is going on, and to ask for some help. Some of you have already done the things I am asking for so don’t think I am not aware of that, or ask you to duplicate efforts.
First of all – I need facebook “likes”. I know it is silly, but this is organic traffic for sponsors and it is worth some $$$$. Please invite all your friends on facebook to like my page. Ideally I get well over 1000 followers before Albuquerque – or even more than that! Let me be specific, rather than just posting me on your wall, I am asking you to specifically invite your friends to “like” my page.
Do you have any media connections? If so please let me know. It is crunch time and I need attention. I am also working on attention from the Danish media – hell, I can just as well use all possible avenues.
If I don’t raise enough money to continue this walk, then first of all, my world won’t collapse – I am more at peace with myself than ever before. Then I will pick up my few belongings and my cats in California, and settle down in Flagstaff. Yes, strange as it sounds, I will not return to live in California.
I want to continue this journey, and I will do everything in my power to get there. The rest is in Gods hands, and I am ok with that. The Trail has so far been the biggest blessing of my life, maybe I have gotten what I needed – although I hope it won’t end here.
With much Love to every single one of you. Each and every one of you are a reason in yourselves that The Trail has been such a blessing and a transformative experience
Leave a Reply

