A Wonderful Evening

It was a wonderful evening getting reacquainted with Paul, John and their families. The camping stories, and stories about how Charlie and Paul would go into the wilderness and get themselves into and then out of trouble abounded. Each story made me giggle. Apparently Charlie had had plenty of time polishing his camping skills by the time I got to know him 22 years ago, because the two trips he took me on where absolutely delightful and remain treasured memories.

Growing up, my parents idea of “roughing it” was a hotel room without room service. I think I would have taken to the camping life Charlie provided like a fish to water though.

It also shows that even though I was raised in to it, somehow planning this trip should show without a shadow of a doubt how strong it is in my blood.

It feels a little strange that I should feel such kinship with people I hardly know, but blood wins out, and I recognize these folks as a part of me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

