I Can’t Do That Because……..

So, here I am at my friends house. I am officially “homeless”, and tomorrow I head to Fresno to visit with family before going on to Santa Monica for departure. My cart is 97% set up. I call it The Cadillac. I am so excited – the adventure is about to start, nervous, of course as well.

More than anything, my heart feels full, because here at the end, before departure I have received so much help and support.  I am humbled.

The last 10 days have been absolutely insane, getting rid of everything and me set for this walk. Several times the feeling that “I can’t do it, I can’t get it done, this isn’t possible to finish” have hit me like a ton of bricks.

And mind you, they are good reason.

I can’t do that because I have no money

I can’t do that because it is too heavy for me to lift.

I can’t do that because I am so exhausted.

And a million other “I can’t do that because” that I have told myself through the last 10 days. Yet, here I am, tomorrow I depart. I remember the mindset I had as a 19 year old; if I really wanted something then I believed with all my heart it was possible, I just had to find out how. It might not be one way, it might have to be another. But my faith was that it could get done. This last 10 days, I have gotten it done. With help, but isn’t that part of the miracle? That people appears to help you?

When we say “I can’t do that because…” we essentially say that the “because” is more important than the thing we want to do.

We are choosing the limitation and investing in it.

The last ten days have been an incredible training for me. So many times I thought: “I can’t do that because” and every single time I HAD to find a way to do it, or the walk would not be possible.

Again and again I have forced myself to show trust, and I have come out on top. Not because everyone deserve it, but because by showing trust I open the possibility of something positive. It hasn’t been easy, and I suspect I am not done learning this lesson, but at this moment I am just grateful.

So, I would like to challenge you as well. What do you say: “I can’t do that, because….” to? Is it because your because, your reason is more important to you than the goal? Or, is it about time now that you find a inventive way to do it regardless?

Leave a Reply

